A Culinary Adventure – Introduction

As our trip has continued, I have been paying a lot of attention to the food which we have been eating.  I have to admit that it is far more different than our version of “Chinese” food.  I will actually admit our version is quite insulting to the culture!  When I went out for diner in the states, I adored Chinese foods.  Now, I’m not so sure I could ever enjoy sweet and sour chicken again as much after having real Chinese.  It was so good that the bar has been raised substantially.  Their food was indeed different and although some dishes were a bit hard to accept, such as chicken feet and jelly fish, I realized their food was still continuously phenomenal!  Although I had my favorites and least favorites, I was very satisfied with the dishes we were presented with.  Most of the time the food was beautifully plated with gorgeous garnishes that made the food stand out more.  One such example was a hard boiled quail egg with baby lavender and some other little flowers I was unfamiliar with.  This small garnish was simple yet extravagant and has inspired me to try various other methods in my work with food garnishes.

Overall, the food here has not only been enjoyable, but inspiring.  Since I plan on attending culinary school after completing my thesis, I will better understand and appreciate Chinese cuisine.  I have already gone out to get a wok, a popular Chinese cooking pan, and a respectable Chinese cookbook to begin practicing.  I have not been this excited about cooking again for a long time.  I almost feel like Julia Child, except learning Chinese rather than French food.

This entry was posted in China Trip 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment